Be Here. Be Home.

Yang Yin Yoga


This class is taught by:

Shirley Talbott, RYT 200

Shirley Talbott is a certified Yogafit instructor with additional certifications specializing in trauma. Mrs. Talbott has also worked in the mental health field with more than 15 years experience working to help heal mental health issues, such as grief, depression, anxiety as well as assisting victims of abuse/trauma, Shirley is a cancer survivor who started Yogafit as a way to heal both the body and the mind. Shirley believes that Yoga complements other types of therapy as it targets mind-body connections and her passion is using Yoga to target mind-body connections as a way of helping others heal. Shirley is also the wife of a wounded warrior and raised their children while her husband was on active duty.
Based on a Chinese-style of yoga, Yang is a choreographed, cardio-intense class appropriate for all levels of students. Incorporating cross-body movement, twists, lunges, and shoulder-openers, Yang Yoga works the entire body, raises the heart rate, and tones all major muscle groups. A short Yin segment accompanies the practice, providing delicious relaxation following the active portion.
 
This is a 60 minute class consisting of three sections.
1. A gentle warm-up the Golden Seed to prepare the body for movement. 2. A series of flowing postures focusing on uniting the body & breath calming the mind Yang portion. 3. When the body is warm, deep stretching Yin style postures & relaxation are used to release tension in the muscles. This is an excellent class for a recovery day, to wind down. Room temperature is gentle (78ºF).

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Jul 26 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Aug 02 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Aug 09 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Aug 16 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Aug 23 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Aug 30 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Sep 06 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Sep 13 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Sep 20 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Sep 27 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Oct 04 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Oct 11 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Oct 18 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Oct 25 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Nov 01 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Nov 08 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Nov 15 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200
  • Wed Nov 22 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Shirley Talbott, RYT 200